Reigatian’s Blog

Musings of a Reigate Local

The Priory Pub – Band Night

The pub crawl continues and further down Bell Street is The Priory Pub. It used to be The Castle and was never very good as that incarnation. Now with, yes you’ve guessed it, scrubbed wooden floors but wiht the addition of  breakfast, coffee ( it also calls itself a café), a large beer garden half of which is covered marquee style it has a new lease of life.

I have been once or twice before and remember laughing at the bouncer – why on earth do you need a bouncer for a pub? I guess it must be the market they are aiming for – the 18-24 age group – and it would be all too easy to fall foul of the law by admitting under aged drinkers. It still looks preposterous though. There are TVs, a large projector screen at one end, fruit machines, a pool table and table hockey. As you may have guessed I am not the sort of customer the Priory is aiming at and so it would be easy for me come over like a grumpy old git and pick holes in it but, like The Bull’s Head, it has its place and this evening reminded me that a town like Reigate needs a place like The Priory.

Tonight was band night. Four local bands were booked to play so a few of us trundled along to check them out.  Apart from doubling the average age and bemoaning the lack of a drink that didn’t have a piece of fruit or plastic sticking out of it; it was great to see the place almost full – of mainly teenagers – and I have say they were a great crowd. One lad who looked about 12 to me, was conspicuously wondering around with a coffee. There was the usual sprinkling of random piercings and tattoos, far too much make-up (and that was just the boys) and ostentatious smoking outside but all in all they were a cheerful, friendly crowd of kids.

The first bad were a group of local lads called The Olivers. It’s unfortunate that I have to describe the band by comparing them to other bands because they were original (most of the set was their own material) but think of a cross between the Arctic Monkeys and The Ramones and you have them nicely pigeon holed. They were a tight outfit – drums, bass, guitar and singer – pretty much nailing every song apart from the odd vocal wobble but this must have been one of their first gigs being first up so pretty impressive and, more to the point, very enjoyable.

I must admit, we left after their set – we were a little too conspicuous and felt tolerated rather than welcomed with open arms but as I said, we are not really their demographic. Good luck to the place I say. I am unlikely to be a regular but I am glad it’s there providing the sort of place young adults (how else can you say that without sounding patronising?) can go and I hope they continue with the band night. I am sure there is enough musical talent in Reigate to fill it regularly and I’ll keep an eye out for The Olivers.

November 1, 2009 Posted by | Community, Food & Drink, Places | , , , | 2 Comments